Multiplex: What's New | Site Map | Community | News My Multiplex Account | Sign In 
in Search

Music and the Integral Vision

Last post 06-05-2008, 3:53 PM by balder. 32 replies.
Page 1 of 3 (33 items)   1 2 3 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  05-07-2008, 12:40 AM 49570

Music and the Integral Vision

•  05-07-2008, 7:40 AM 49632 in reply to 49570

Re: Music and the Integral Vision

Thanks for this, schalk. Great questions. I look forward to answering really soon.   - Kerry
    'takes all kinds.
  •  05-07-2008, 7:26 PM 49695 in reply to 49632

•  05-07-2008, 9:52 PM 49722 in reply to 49695

schalk,

I caught this thread on my way out the door this morning, pleased to find it having just last night heard my own music reproduced digitally for the first time. While most of my self taught playing/composing was in my mid-teens, with only a few months of time on the piano scattered throughout the last twenty years, I do consider music, both interiorly and exteriorly, central to my aesthetic life, even as a visual artist.

Not too long ago the thread Integral Frontiers of Sacred Music was started by balder on gaia.com . Some of your questions are taken up there as well.

What I'd like to bring here is a hypothesis on the AQAL rootedness of styles of musical expression.

Using the example of 'sacred' vocal music, particularly that which developed since people began singing indoors, acoustic settings with distinct insulations from outdoor soundscapes (markedly more insular than tents or yurts or caves). 

There are some sounds, mainly those of the 'natural world', with which we as a species have longer histories, deeper co-grooves, with: those that most of our evolution took place with.